Struggle Bus

Beware: Very Sporadic Thoughts Post! 

I never really anticipated how difficult life after college would be. For some reason I had this {entirely unrealistic} expectation that I would instantly know what I wanted to do with my career, have a ton of friends and things to do, and simply be happy with where I am in life.

Image

 
Wake up! That is not how it is at all. At least that is my experience thus far. Sure, some people are incredibly fortunate and lucky to know what they want to do as a professional, but more often than not, recent college grads have no idea what to do after Commencement. Not to mention how difficult it is to land a job in the economy we face today. Here I am almost a year after my graduation, still unhappy and confused when it comes to answering the big and dreaded question: What’s Next?

Image

I still have no answer to that question… at all. I never thought I’d go back for grad school. Ever. I didn’t really enjoy college. Now though-I miss learning so much. I have toyed with many different options (Registered Dietician, Athletic Training, Exercise Science, etc.) but I can tell you that what I do right now (sit at a desk, relatively untasked) is not what I want to do. Sure, I shouldn’t complain because I’m lucky enough to have a job, let alone one that pays well and has great benefits. But I miss being challenged, engaged, and learning.Image
 
Who knows where the job force will take me. I just want to love what I do. I think that is so important. So many people work for money, but it won’t buy you happiness. What’s the point of living comfortably and being able to purchase anything you want when you dread going to work every day? That doesn’t spell happiness to me.
 
On top of the whole work situation, I’ve never felt more alone in terms of my relationships. The transition I’ve been going through is tough. As most of you know I did ROTC in college and commissioned as a 2LT in the National Guard. This has been a great opportunity for me. However, most of my friends who I did ROTC with went Active Duty. That means some of my closest friends from college are now scattered throughout the county… and the world! Just this past weekend I had to say bye to one of my best friends as she prepared for her first duty station in KOREA for a year… it was so much tougher than I anticipated. Because ROTC was so time-consuming, a lot of my friendships with ‘normal college kids’ dwindled. Now I’m stuck here… unhappy with my career, feeling alone, and at a loss as to what I want to do.
 

Image{preach it Brooke Davis}

At 22 I should not feel so unfulfilled with my life and the direction it’s taking. I know many people will say ‘you’re only 22 you have so much time’ but I don’t do bored well. I miss having that spark and something I’m truly passionate about.
 Image

So after this sob fest {sorry I subjected you to this} I do have some good news. I am incredibly passionate about fitness… be it running, swimming, lifting.. you name it. So I have gone ahead and ordered the NASM materials and am beginning what will be a long journey in becoming a CPT!

Image

It will be a long work in progress but hopefully by this winter I’ll be a Certified Personal Trainer! 🙂 

Tell Me: How hard was your adjustment after college? 

14 thoughts on “Struggle Bus

  1. I want to know all about this CPT stuff! So cool! Girl, I am 24 and unemployed. I quit my job at trader joes to hopefully finish school because I am still not done. I’ve had to switch from dental hygiene to dental assisting just because I need some direction STAT! Fingers crossed I get into this program..Ohh life how I love you.

  2. Aw I’m sorry life is rough for you right now. College is definitely not the best time of my life. I’m hoping it gets better after… once I figure out what I want to do with it. It makes me feel better to know I’m not the only one out there!

  3. I can relate to this 100%, after graduating college I still have no idea what I want to do. I have a job but not a career job by any means. I have a long distance boyfriend do I move down there? (he is in the military meaning I can’t live with him unless we are married). I don’t know-long story short I can relate to this whole heartidly.

    • Ah! Military relationships are the hardest. My boy wants to go active duty when he commissions so I will have to deal with the whole marriage/living situation then too! That’s why I’m trying to stay positive and remind myself that this is not permanent. There are plentiful doors for me. 🙂

  4. Just so you know … you’re not alone! The adjustment is tough for everyone, although I expect it’s even tougher with the military stuff you mentioned. I went through a post-college slump where I was really confused/down/unsure. Shortly after, I started blogging, and it’s helped me a lot!

    I’m glad you found something you can be passionate about, too!

  5. Luckily for me, I switched majors so I’m in college a bit longer. It’s SO intimidating deciding what to do after. I try so hard to just flow with it, but that’s way easier said than done. All of my friends are graduating and moving on so I COMPLETELY relate to that feeling of being stuck while everyone goes somewhere. UGH. It sucks.

  6. “So many people work for money, but it won’t buy you happiness. What’s the point of living comfortably and being able to purchase anything you want when you dread going to work every day? “.. amen to that girl!

    …and I’m so sorry things have been going not so stellar for you, Just remember to take a deep breath, and remind yourself that things will start happening for you. Yes they may not be moving in the pace you want, but just have faith & trust in God. ❤ ❤

  7. Woo hoo – training to be a CPT sounds like an awesome move for you 🙂 I’m almost 27 and I seriously question my career path and passions still; it’s tough!! But you do figure it out eventually and you’ll be so happy you worked for it. Good luck!

  8. Pingback: Phone Dump! | myhighonlife

  9. I hear ya! I’m still working on figuring out what to do with my life! When I get really stressed out, I try to remind myself to take a breath and relax. We’re young and it’s okay to try a bunch of things and see what we like. Life is all about the journey not the destination, right?

Leave a Reply

