A Weekend to Go Down into the Books

First off, thank you all for your outstanding feedback and comments on my last post regarding my last semester of college and what the future has in store; it’s great to know that I’m not the only one that freaks out about it so frequently.

Now onto the fun stuff–while it may be Monday, I have been walking around with an obnoxious smile on my face. It was such a phenomenal weekend.

Friday night I had to work and have been fighting a stomach bug. I was scheduled to work 8am to noon on Saturday too but my boss saw that I’ve been feeling pretty icky so I got to head home that night. Because my trip to the Rose Bowl I didn’t get to spend much time at home over the break so it was nice to get to spend some quality downtime with my dog and over 1,000 channels 😉 (oh and internet since mine at the apartment has been down since last Wednesday..don’t get me started!)

Saturday I slept in a little bit then went to go visit my mom. She was out on a Ladies weekend but it was nearby and I wanted to see her. She ended up hooking me up with a TON of groceries… score! This is where it starts getting good..

I had plans to meet up for some Starbucks with one of my old girlfriends who is both pregnant and now ENGAGED! I expected to just meet up with her to hear “The Story” but when I get there I see her sitting there with a box and a card. At first I was thinking ‘why did she get me something early for Valentine’s day?”

I opened the card.. [cue the waterworks here] and found out that I am going to be a MAID OF HONOR! I couldn’t contain my excitement and may have screamed inside Starbucks 🙂

She asked me in such a heartwarming way too… she wrote a poem inside a card:

At this point I was tearing up but there still was a box to open up… 🙂

Oh my goodness I’m getting emotional just thinking about it! I am so incredibly honored. Because they are expecting for insurance purposes they will be having a small wedding (more like a Justice of Peace) in March then a year after the baby (eeeek!) there will be a big ceremony. So technically I get to be the MOH twice 😀

Then that night I took a little jump in terms of relationships too. It’s all still so new and exciting! I finally was able to wear my Claddagh ring the other way after nearly four years…

Despite all the exciting things that happened Saturday I had to get some sleep as Sunday was going to be a big day. I was tackling a distance PR.. heading out for 14 miles! Ay.

My training partner and I had signed up for a 10k and we were going to run 4 miles before and 4 after but it took us longer to get down there. We got a short warm up in, ran the 10k (which I PRd despite major foot issues and knowing I still had a lot of distance to cover after) and then 7 miles afterwards. Ended up with a total of 14.27 miles. Holy cow! I still am quite proud of myself–there will be many more PDR’s but this one was big since it’s the first I’ve done more than the 13.1. I’m really digging this marathon training…even though my legs hurt today. I followed it up with some Starbucks (of course) & an ice bath.

I had a PT test again this morning so I may be taking an ice bath tonight as well..the thought makes me cold but it helps the legs so much!

The last emotional, overwhelming, and exciting thing I did this weekend was pick out my graduation announcements! It’s all so surreal.

Tell me: What was the best part of your weekend? Have you been a MOH or a bridesmaid? Whats your favorite part of training?

8 thoughts on “A Weekend to Go Down into the Books

  1. Congratulations! That is seriously the most adorable MOH proposal ever. 🙂 Now for all the fun wedding parts – bachelorette, shower, shopping, planning…! My favorite thing about being a bridesmaid is there’s all this wonderful quality time you get to spend with a great group of ladies.

  2. Figuring out “what’s next” is so daunting, but what I’ve learned in the past is that no matter how much you plan, things will always work out the way that they are supposed to. Just make the best of the situation and enjoy your last semester–best of luck!

    Congratulations on Maid of Honor; that is so exciting! I can’t wait to play a major role in all of my sisters’ weddings!

  3. Congrats!!! That’s such a cute way to ask. I would be so excited!! I’ve never been in a wedding except as a flower girl when I was little, but I guess at 18 I don’t have a ton of friends getting married!

Leave a Reply

