The Beginning of the End

I can’t believe it is actually here… I started my final semester of college yesterday. What? Come again…?! You mean real life starts in 5 short months?

For the past 3.5 years I have always thought/said, “Man, I can’t wait until college graduation.” Then BAM... it arrived. And it came fast. It seems like just last year my family was helping me move into my dorm freshman year.

College has been outstanding for me. I have learned so much about who I am and who I want to be; especially in the last year. I have built absolutely wonderful friendships that I know will continue once I graduate. <–the thought still scares me!

I have spent a lot of the past few months having complete panic attacks regarding my future and what it holds for me. I have flipflopped on what I want to do with my life: law school, court reporting, paralegal.. and quite frankly, I’m still not sure. Do I have a job lined up after graduation? No. Does that frighten me? More than you can imagine.

Despite the fear of the unknown, I have a few goals for this semester.

I will not let the future and the unknown get to me. This is my last semester of college, after this I see the fun decreasing drastically. While I am excited about the future and what it holds for me, I spend so much time worrying myself into a tizzy about it & I won’t do it. Things WILL fall into place. It all will take time… and I have to accept that.

I will stay on top of academics this semester. Most people tend to blow off their last semester. I want to go out on a positive note and be able to say I ended college strong. The goal is to get a 3.5! I only have class two days a week so when I’m not working the other days I’ll do schoolwork…that way I can relax after 12 hour class days on Tuesday & Thursday.

I will find a healthy balance. Real life will throw more curveballs than the life of a college student does. This semester I will strive to find balance between a 15hr/week job, 13 credits, marathon training & Army stuff. Balance=less stress=happy Karla! 🙂

What will I miss most about college? Sporting events. While Badgers may not have the classiest chants and be the most respectful, we sure know how to have fun. I’ve been trying to go to more basketball and hockey games cause before I know it they’ll be donezo.

Roomies–Let’s Go Red!

We got to the hockey game this past weekend early enough to be in the 4th row of the student section.. so much fun!

Ah! I can’t believe that on May 20th I will be a graduate and a 2LT in the Wisconsin Army National Guard.. crayyy.

Time to get the running clothes on and head out for another 5 miles or so.

Tell me: Where did/do you go to college? What will you miss most about college? Do you over stress about the future?

4 thoughts on “The Beginning of the End

  1. I used to stress myself out to the MAX about the future. I felt like I had to have every last detail planned out for the next 5 or so years. Thank goodness i’ve gotten off that anxiety train. I’ve learned to just go with the flow and I’m learning how to just be happy where I am in life right now! It’s a constant work in progress that’s for sure! Enjoy your last few months! Live it up!

  2. I just graduated from the University of Colorado this past May and have been working retail for the past 8 months. Oh and have been hating working in retail… so I quit. Now I’m back on the job search and it’s terrifying to not have a job. Equally terrifying to try to decide what you want to do with the rest of your life. I’ve thought about law school, grad school, paralegal, but then I feel like I’m just picking something because it will get me a job. This is such a tough time in our lives, I’m so glad you’re writing about it!

  3. I felt pretty much the same way in my last semester. The entire process seemed so long and tedious and then one day it was just over. Everything sorta works itself out though. All that stress and apprehension I had just disappeared once I had officially finished and was on my way to finding a job..

  4. You are awesome!! Such an accomplishment you are about to have! I am still finishing my college journey ( I swear mine will never end) and I am applying to dental hygiene schools after finishing 4years of associates degrees and prerequisite classes at a local community college. I just want my dental degree..then I don’t care what happens!

Leave a Reply

