Where Were You

What an emotional morning for all Americans. Here we stand… ten years later. Ten years ago our country looked terror in it’s face. No one knew what was going on that morning. And thankfully, today we stand as a stronger country. We are the United States. 

I didn’t think that I would be so emotional today. I’ve spent the morning sitting in bed, reflecting on what happened to our beloved country ten years ago. Watching the news to see the memorial and listen to stories of family members of 9/11 victims tell their story. And the tears are flooding out of my eyes.

Even after 10 years I still cannot believe what happened to us the morning of September 11, 2011. I cannot understand what drives any human being to commit an act of terror so grave.

I had just gotten dropped off to school during my 6th grade year. Half an hour later all our parents are calling the school asking what can we do?! No one knew if this was the start of a series of attacks that would hit our entire country. It was mayhem. The rest of the day we watched the news and stood together side by side. Like the rest of the country in the darkest moment, we stood up together. Yes, there was widespread fear. But an act of terror on our country caused us to unite and become even stronger.

We have come a long way in ten years. Yes, not everyone may agree with what has happened in the aftermath. But we have done what is necessary. September 11 marks a special place in my heart…and those of other many fellow soldiers. 9/11 is a large reason of why I enlisted in the United States Army–WI National Guard.

I defend the values on which this Nation stands. I will be there to aid in preventing anything that may happen in the future like this, God forbid. I get the honor to fight for the freedoms we have as Americans. I have brothers and sisters who are all willing to do the same. I put my uniform on with pride and dignity. 

As I sit here typing this, there was just a flyover. I got the chills up and down my body. Rather than being terrified, I smiled. God Bless our beautiful Country.

Today I ask you to reflect and pray for 9/11 victims, family members, military personnel, all NYPD and NYFF involved that dreadful morning, and our country. Please do not forget… always remember.

My favorite song…put into a memorial video.

2 thoughts on “Where Were You

Leave a Reply

