National Running Day

Brace yourself fellow bloggers. Today I did something outrageous… but before I get into that I would like to briefly reflect on my running journey.

Growing up I was a competitive swimmer. I swam about 330 days of the year from the age of 5 until 17. I went through the normal up’s & down’s that any competitive athlete experiences… a shoulder injury, times where I wanted to quit, seasons where I qualified for Nationals, and even a state record when I was 10 & 12.

You know the saying ‘My sport is your sports punishment?’ That’s how running was to me. I hated it with a burning passion when we did it for dryland in swimming. My coach would hop in his Highlander, stop at Starbucks and sit at the turn-around point 2 miles away from the pool and check us off. I think I moved so slow that I was walking.

After the season of my senior year, I finally hung swimming up. It was a difficult decision but I wanted to go to UW-Madison where I would not have been able to swim and balance school. I went through the normal freshman year craziness, finding trouble, and the infamous Freshmen 15.

A woman I used to coach with (the infamous Sam. my crazy running partner) was on my Facebook and she linked her Dailymile posts to her Facebook. I saw her running all these crazy miles and later learned she was training for her first half marathon. I was instantly inspired. I shot her a message asking her ‘How in the hell do you run more than 4 miles?!’ She said slowly work your way up and it’ll come.

Prior to this I maxed out at 4 miles.. and even then I wanted to croak. But I too signed up for a half marathon in September of 2010 and somewhere between the months I spent training for this half I fell in love with running. Never thought I, the swimmer who nearly cried when we had to run, would love to run.

After successfully finishing my first half, albeit not as quick as I had wanted to I immediately started thinking of when I would do my second. Sam was running her first full marathon at the WI Marathon this May so I signed up to do my half there. I had goals to break 2 hours, spent lots of time training, and was fully prepared. But during the race I battled with calf cramping (which put me out of running for 3 weeks) & numb feet. I felt defeated. I didn’t reach my goal and I spent a lot of time crying and being somewhat pissed off. If you want to read about it, you can here.

 This horrid half marathon was just a month ago. Now that I’ve finally started running again I have decided I will get REDEMPTION & break 2 hours at the Middleton Haunted Hustle Half Marathon on October 29th. I will break 2 hours.

To celebrate National Running Day (which by the way… should be a national holiday!) I went on a 5 mile, HOT, sweaty, icky run. But I am so glad to be on my feet again after buying new shoes, a foam roller, and a massage.

And for the big news…

DRUMROLL PLEASE….

Today I signed up for my first marathon. Yes, you heard me. The girl who couldn’t run more than 4 miles in April of 2010 has signed up to run 26.2 miles just 2 years later.

On April 28, 2012 I will be participating in the Nashville Rock n Roll Marathon. I couldn’t be more excited. And the best part? One of my closest friends, and the person who served all this inspiration in the first place, will be running, laughing, and persevering at my side with me for it. I couldn’t be happier.

can.not.wait!

So that’s my big news, readers!

Tell me: Did you celebrate National Running Day? If you have ran a full marathon, any tips you would like to give me?! 

12 thoughts on “National Running Day

  1. Omgaaahhh yayaya!! You freakin rock! I am wanting to do my first half soon..but I want Disneyland to be my first haha. I did celebrate national running day with a 2.5 mile run, although I wasn’t planning on running at all today..but I just had to! I wish I could give you tips, but all I have is work your way up and you’ll do just fine!

    • I had these epic dreams of doing the Disneyland for my first marathon too. But it wasn’t in the cards financially unfortunately. Maybe someday we’ll both get out there 🙂

  2. Congratulations on such a big step! I can relate to your story 100%- I used to HATE running and all the sudden I was signing up for my first marathon…my one piece of advice would be- never say never- you’ll say now that this will be the one and only one you’ll do but i can bet thats not the case (i’m currently signed up for 2 and 3 🙂 Training and running with a friend makes it so much fun – enjoy it! Love your blog!

  3. YAY!!!! sooo exciting!! 🙂
    I celebrated National Running Day as well! Couldn’t resist. And I’m thinking about running a marathon in September…we’ll see 🙂

    • If you wanna do one, you WILL. It’s all about following your dreams and aspirations, as silly as that sounds. I’m still baffled by the fact that I’ll be running a marathon within the year–yikes!

  4. woww that’s great! that is truly truly such a big jump from 4-26 miles! Sounds overwhelming, but this just goes to show that anything physical and mental, we can overcome if we really are determined. 🙂

  5. congrats on signing up for your first marathon!!
    that is awesomeee!!!!

    wow! had no idea it was national running day!!!

  6. Pingback: Good Friends, Good Times « myhighonlife

Leave a Reply

