I’m Cheating on Running…

Being free from the wrath of paper writing, studying, and presentations feels so good, so good, so good!

Despite the BEAUTIFUL weather (hey 85 degrees!) I spent the day yesterday cleaning the kitchen–it’s finally spotless. I don’t know what got into me this semester but I got super messy. It’s pretty easy to clean with the windows open & Jack Johnson Pandora station.

After scrubbing, vacuuming, dusting, and mopping I hit the gym. Got in some quality lifts… on that note, anyone have good recommendations for a full-body toning routine? I’m struggling and at a fitness plateau.

After lifting I went to spin. I feel like I’m cheating on running because I LOVED it. It’s a different exercise than running and the instructor was the cutest and most fun girl ever. With the 85 degree weather we were all drippping obscene amounts of sweat in there.

I really enjoy spin/biking… so on that note I am telling you a goal I have set forth for myself for summer/early fall of 2012: Half-Ironman. Being a competitive swimmer for 13 years makes me fully capable of the swim part & if I can get my legs healed and taken care of the running will be a breeze too. All I have to do is buy a road bike & I’m on my path to the 70.3.. hold me accountable loves! (Along with a full marathon in spring of 2012, it’s going to be a busy, fitness-filled year!)

After spin I made a delicious dinner while watching my favorite–The Biggest Loser. I got this recipe out of Hungry Girl and it was so easy and good.

Chicken Fajita Lettuce Cups

You’ll Need:
*romaine/green leaf lettuce
*3 oz. skinless, boneless chicken breast sliced
*red/green peppers
*onions
*salsa
*Fat free sour cream
*1.5 tsp dry fajita seasoning

Put the sliced chicken & veggies in a bowl. In a separate dish blend the fajita seasoning with 3 tbs water. Mix seasoning with chicken/veggie mixture. Stir until chicken and veggies are coated–let marinate for 5+ minutes.

Spray a medium pan with nonstick spray, heat over med-high heat. Pour chicken, veggies, and any excess marinade in the pan. Saute until chicken is thoroughly cooked and veggies start browning.

chicken, red pepper, red onion

Pour mixture into the lettuce cups, garnish with salsa, sour cream, and/or guac if you wish–enjoy a healthier ‘fajita!’

lettuce fajita wrap 🙂

So good, so easy.

Once Biggest Loser was over I read a bit and called it an early night.

What I love about summer so far: The fact that it’s 11AM and I’m still in bed. I got up only to make breakfast and coffee.

greek yog, blueberries, strawbs, chia seeds
that sign makes me giggle

I’ve been in bed catching up on blogs (my GoogleReader is sooo full!) & watching last night’s One Tree Hill.

perfection

I could do this everyday. And the best part is, I can. My job doesn’t start until mid-June which is when I leave for Army training for a month 😦 So I have no commitments until then.

Todays Agenda:

-Shower (I’m looking rather summerish if you know what I mean…)
-Sort through winter clothes & get them ready to go into storage
-Finish my race report
-Fix shoe rack
-Spin @ 4

If you’re into photography, have a huge heart, and have tissue close by.. check this out. So beautiful, heartbreaking, and heartwarming all at the same time.

Happy Hump Day!

4 thoughts on “I’m Cheating on Running…

Leave a Reply

