I Need a Break

So it’s only Thursday and my mind is most definitely on ‘weekend mode’. That whole school, ROTC, stressful life thing can wait until Monday. It’s like this song:

Yesterday was my favorite day of the week–hump day! I can’t believe how fast this week is going [thank goodness!]

Between school craziness I was able to eat some delicious meals.

Breakie:

7 grain waffles with apple butter & my fav Chobani: pomegranate!

Lunch:

oh hey HUGE salad.

every lunch gets dessert (at least yesterdays did!!)

Dinner:

this was a healthy organic black bean burrito... then I smothered it with cheese. oops.

snacks:

nanner with dark chocolate PB

delicious red pepper + some caesar

I also got a great tempo run on the treadmill. (5.25 miles. 47 min)

don't judge; it's blurry but I'm sporting my new outfit!

I’ve been avoiding announcing my half marathon goal time out here because the infamous comparison trap & then feeling under-accomplished if I don’t fulfill my goal.

However, I have decided to announce that my goal time is a sub 2:00 half marathon. I know there’s a ton of you speed demons out there who think this is super slow. But for someone who couldn’t run more than 4 miles a year ago this would be a huge accomplishment. Not to mention my first half time was 2:20. I’d love to kill it & PR by 20 minutes in just 8 months! That’d be ballla!

My favorite running partner is doing her first full marathonΒ at the same race so I’m looking forward to watching her finish & hopefully tell her that I met my goal!

On the running note: I’m compiling a playlist of new upbeat running jams. If you have any suggestions let me know. I don’t wanna be putzing around with my iPod during it. I need every second πŸ˜‰

Today I want to share some things I’m incredibly thankful for. Depending on where you’re from you may have heard about a 16 year old girl that went missing from Oconomowoc, WI <–my hometown.

The girl was my mom’s friends daughter & I remember scrapbooking with her when we were kids. After missing for over a week someone finally spotted her & she has since been brought back home by her mother.

I’m thankful for the amazing support group that this young girl had. While she may have been overwhelmed before, it’s beautiful knowing just how many people care. The power of community involvement was awesome–word of mouth travelled fast; she is safe, alive & in her mothers arms again. Thank God.

Since I’m already on weekend mode (ignore the fact that I have to write a peer review tonight still….) here’s what I’m doing this weekend:

Friday: getting my hair died BLONDER! & then dinner and/or movie with Z. <–things are going really well. πŸ˜€

Saturday: a run with my favorite, Sam! Planning on doing 13.1 to see where I’m at being 2 weeks out of race day!!Β Then having some drinks & catching up with a close friend πŸ™‚

Sunday: Church & eating a copious amount of ham. Spending QT with the famjam!

As you can see I’ll be crazy busy so probs won’t get a post in. Don’t worry I’ll still stalk on all you beauties! πŸ™‚

Time to sip on this delicious smoothie:

pineapple, frozen nanners, strawberries, chocolate protein, & vanilla almond milk. YUM

& do my last school things before I am allowed to be on weekend mode. But let’s be real, I am already. πŸ™‚

What are your [Easter] weekend plans? Any good running songs you wanna recommend?

5 thoughts on “I Need a Break

  1. girlfriend, there’s nobody judging you here. you can always post that time up there. it’ll make you want to kill that PR even more next time if you do! πŸ™‚

    that buritto. and that smoothie. gimme.

Leave a Reply

