Sisterhood

Last night and until about 4pm I was plagued with a migraine. I don’t get them too frequent but when I do they are bitchin. My medication makes me sick to stomach–it’s such a lose/lose situation.

If the migraine wasn’t bad enough the weather in Madison is treacherous. It’s windy, chilly (35 degrees), and rainy/snowy/sleet. AKA It was miserable walking out the door today to go to class. But I did it cause I’m a good student šŸ˜‰

I had plans to clean, do laundry & get a workout in tonight but after battling the migraine & the nasty weather I have very happily resorted to making a delicious dinner, blogging, and catching up on TV shows & my friends.

Dinner was a tilapia on a heated up flatbread with chipotle sauce and some muenster cheese (can you say delicious!) May not look appetizing but I can assure you it is happily sitting in my belly now!

Get In mah belllly

While catching up on my life outside of school, Army, and working out I was able to have a wonderfully beautifulĀ conversation tonight with my best friend sister (she’s not actually my sister, but I consider her one). Jessie & I have been best friends since 2nd grade. She transferred from a different school and our teacher, Mrs. Ellis paired us together during a class activity. We instantly clicked and the rest is history.

We started out being best friends…and ended up being sisters

Through countless memories over the past 13 years we have built a bond that no one will ever replace.

We got tattoos together the day before we left for college! Call us frick & frack

Ā That being said as we have grown up we sadly have grown apart. This happens so often when people grow up: you go to different colleges, you meet new people, you live a hectic busy schedule, and you start dating people. That last one has gotten between Jessie & I a lot in the past year.

I set her up with a good guy friend of mine a little over a year ago. They hit it off so quickly and got serious fast. While I was super happy for her, I had a hard time swallowing my pride and telling her how happy I truly was for her. She is a beautiful, talented, caring, compassionate woman and everyone would be blessed to know her. But for some reason I couldn’t get over my sad single life and tell her how happy I was for her. Throughout the year we started talking less and less.

Tonight we finally laid everything out on the line and talked about the past year. I apologized for not being open about how happy I was for her. She apologized for the less frequent conversations and visits. We finally talked about how happy she is, and how happy I am for her. She is my sister after all!

My two best girls & their men!

While it may seem random it has a lot to deal with how happy I am. I finally had grasped singledom as I knew it and was okay with it. Then low & behold someone great walks into my life. There’s great potential with Z & Jessie told me just how happy she is to see me happy. I feel like a huge load has been taken off my shoulders and Jessie & I can finally move forward with our beautiful friendship.

A Bond Which Can’t Be Broken

Her & I could take on the world together. Nothing can or will ever come between us. She really is my other half. I love her.

Tell me: What’s your best friend like?

3 thoughts on “Sisterhood

  1. Migraines suck big time. Hope you’re feeling 100% better. Your post reminds me of one of my sorority t-shirts that says “Chance made us friends, love made us sisters”. I totally understand your post. Feelings toward your BFF and what’s going on in your own life in comparison can affect you a lot. Glad you got things worked out! Even though my BFF is almost my complete opposite, she is awesome and we balance each other out. šŸ™‚

  2. I HATE migraines. I have 2 different kinds and fight them often. They both get me so sick and sometimes, throwing up is the only way I feel better but the most painful thing to do. (over sharing? haha) My RX doesn’t do squat!

    Aw, that’s so good to hear that you were able to talk it all out. Friends/sisters are never to be lost. (but totally understand when 1 has someone and the other doesn’t.)

Leave a Reply

