Manic Monday

I’m already missing the weekend; I had so much fun! Great balance of work & play.

Fun: military ball, after party, dinner with friend!

On Sunday I got a great 6 mile run in. Started with my pre-run breaky: pb & honey!

Yummmm! ๐Ÿ™‚

It started out super slow & painful.. I was hurting from some speedwork and the path was icy/snowy… which results in angry shins. I headed onto State St. and ran around the Capitol… people are still protesting. It’s nuts! The second 3 miles felt fabulous… finally got into my groove. Overall pace ended up being 9:34… while that’s not great considering the first 3 miles were horrible I’ll take it. Refueled after with coffee of course! And a delicious yogurt bowl. [hello newfound obsession with greek yogurt!]

Delicious: TJ banana vanilla greek yogurt, organic granola, and blueberries.

The rest of Sunday I had to work. Pretty uneventful.

Today started out awesome. At PT we did mile repeats. Since I ran my 6 miles yesterday I was gonna shoot for 9 min miles cause I was a bit fatigued. Started out and felt amazing. So my friend and I pushed it.. hard. I did 3 mile repeats, 8:00 pace each. Between them was abs/pushups. Felt outstanding; I love the breakthrough I’m making on the speed front. This half marathon should be awesome & a PR by far! =D

Breakfast was complete with Peach Melba Chobani & blueberries. I’m in love with this yogurt… just bought more actually. I just wish it wasn’t $1.80 at my grocery store because I could have this everyday.

I was on a complete runners high and in such a great mood this morning. That is until about 9am. It suddenly dawned on me that I had a paper due at noon that I completely forgot about. I had to cram something together…needless to say it wasn’t the best. But my first 2 were good so I have a little room for error. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The rest of today was relatively uneventful. Lifted some weights & just got done with a delicious dinner: Asparagus with a dallop of sour cream & green onions & a Chicken Chili Lime burger with a slice of low-fat colby! Yumm.

Yes that entire mountain of asparagus is in my belly. it’s my fav veggie! Now I get to settle down with some books for the remainder of the evening, along with a work meeting at 9:30. [Don’t people know I go to bed at 10?! 9:30 is ridiculously late for a meeting ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ]

I’ve been reading the ABC’s of bloggers & am jumping on the bandwagon: ย ๐Ÿ™‚

A: Age

I’m a young’in. I’m 20–I’ll be 21 on July 3rd! [Fun fact: when I was younger I thought all the 4th of July festivities were just because it was my birthday. Yes, I was a princess in my eyes.]

B: Bed Size

Always been in a twin. I curl up so much when I sleep thats all I need!

C: Chore You Hate

Drying dishes. Worst. Chore. Ever. I also despise cleaning the bathroom. Vomit.

D: Dog

There’s been one in the family since I was born. Now my brother who still lives at home has a Golden Retriever black lab mix named Diesel. He is such a lover & definitely my favorite dog; I miss him when I’m at school! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

E: Essential Start to Your Day

Coffeeโ€ฆ!

F: Favorite Color

Turquoise?

G: Gold or Silver

Definitely silver. Gold looks funny on me.

H: Height

5โ€™7″ (In my opinion too tall–or maybe that’s cause the guys I do meet also happen to be 5’7″…)

I: Instruments You Play

I used to play flute & piccolo. Now I’m musically inept.

J: Job Title

Lifeguard & swim meet manager… [hopefully someday I can happily respond lawyer!]

K: Kids

I want to adopt kids from the Dominican Republic. The thought of bearing my own children however…not so much.

L: Live

Madison, WI! I love it here but will definitely relocate somewhere sans snow for grad school/the rest of my life.

This was on our way to the Farmers Market one day. I love having the market around Capitol Square. Beautiful food, beautiful people.

M: Momโ€™s Name

Lisa

N: Nicknames

Riems, Kar, La. (turns out Karla is not conducive to nicknames!)

O: Overnight Hospital Stays

I don’t think any were overnight!

P: Pet Peeve

Chewing with mouth open has to be number #1. Although I’ve found out that I’m rather irritable. ย :/

Q: Quote From A Movie

Hmm. Probably that super cliche one from The Notebook. It’s just too cute.

R: Righty or Lefty?

Righty.

S: Siblings

One older (24 yo) brother.

T: Time You Wake Up

MWF: 5:27.
TTh: 6:30
Weekends: I sleep in! Unless it’s summer…then Saturday I wake up early to get a long run in before the heat!

U: Underwear

This is an odd question.

V: Vegetables You Dislike

Mushrooms. Gagg!

W: What Makes You Run Late

I usually am always ahead of schedule. But if not, it would have to be grabbing coffee, being online, or taking ridiculously long showers! ๐Ÿ™‚

X: X-Rays Youโ€™ve Had

Not sure.

Y: Yummy Food You Make

Everything ย I make is yummy ๐Ÿ˜‰

Z: Zoo Animal Favorite

Hmm that’s a toughie. I’m not sure, the penguins are pretty cute though! Otherwise tigers. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Day 17: Something You’re Looking Forward To

I’m doing the WI Half Marathon in May. Sadly that’s about the next thing I’m really looking forward to. Have weeks of training still but it’s looking good! ๐Ÿ™‚

Day 18: Favorite Place to Eat

Flat Top Grill. Just thinking about it makes me salivate. There’s nothing like creating a heaping mound of vegetables and adding fun sauces. Then voila! There’s a stir fry like none other in front of you. Hmmm, maybe I’ll go there this weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

Day 19: Something You Miss

I spent 13 years of my life competitive swimming. There are some days I miss it more than anything. It was the one thing I was good at; maybe I miss having a talent more than swimming itself. But I do miss the shape it kept me in & the relationships I created. Not to mention I got to travel to some sweet places & have quite the hardware collection at home. ๐Ÿ˜‰
I suppose I traded the swim suit in for my Army uniform & running shoes!

Day 20: Nicknames

Look above ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Time to hit the books.

5 thoughts on “Manic Monday

  1. sour cream on asparagus!? omg genius! I ate mine with garlic and olive oil tonight but i’m trying them your way next time!

    Just found your blog today! I’m having fun reading through it and learning more about ya! โค

    you have me dying to watch the notebook now! jsut mentioning is enough to make me start quoting the entire movie!

  2. black labs are the BEST! I grew up with one, and obv I have my little baby Chloe. ๐Ÿ™‚

    aand I’ve never heard of ‘sparagus with sour cream. interesting!!

  3. coffee…yes, amen to that! i’ve never tried it after a run, but i hear it’s great for muscle recovery. (true story.) good luck on your half! i hope to run my first this year myself and will GLADLY steal pointers if you’ve got them! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

