Learning to Love Valentines Day

Happy Valentines day readers! πŸ™‚

This is a day that I have both loved to “celebrate” and hated. The past 2 years I have spent this day completely moping around and hating everything about the day. Nothing about walking to class seeing all the wonderful boyfriends taking bouquets to their ladies was fun to me–instead it just made me very very jealous. This year however I had an entirely different approach.

In the past year I have done a lot of self-assessing and figuring out who I am now and what I want to be. I have grown to love myself more than I ever thought I could imagine; both inside & out. I am a strong and independent woman and that is admirable. Someday someone great will come along & the wait will be entirely worth it. So instead of celebrating this day with a ‘boy’ I spent it loving me and my fabulous family & friends.

My mom bought me some wicked cute candy heart socks, the prettiest flowers & a delicious cupcake; best Valentine ever. πŸ˜‰ Β The flowers brighten the apartment, the cupcake was devoured & ooh sooo good & the socks are a tradition.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aren’t both those gorgeous?! Best mom award!

 

Today was a day to celebrate this new found self-appreciation. I started it off with a cute outfit because those always make everyone feel great!

 

Pardon my self photography skills, they’re horrible but it’s a super cute outfit! Then I went to class, smiling the whole way. It was nice beautiful outside today. After some boring classes I went on a run outside. Today was day #1 of my 2nd half marathon training plan and although it was just a strength/stretch day I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to run outside. At times it was hard dodging inch deep puddles but I had SPEED today [for me anyways…I’m still new at this running thing.] I felt absolutely wonderful and wanted to keep going but… as always there were some time restraints. Freshened up and grabbed a rasberry & strawberry yogurt smoothie from a local coffeeshop with my ex boyfriend. Kind of odd that we got together to catch up today of all days; but it was nice getting back in touch. He gave me a very nice compliment at the end of our meet-up “It’s good to see you doing well. You look great and I’m really impressed with who you are today”. That was sooo nice of him & further validated how loving myself more than ever really shows. I am so happy!

Since I had no dinner plans I treated myself to SUSHI. Yummm nothing better than the Stardust combo. So that is how I treated myself this Valentines day. Unfortunately now I have to go spend a late one at the library finishing a paper for Journalism (which I could be doing now… priorities though right?! ;-))

Tell me: How do you spend your ‘single’ Valentines Days?

30 day challenge: Something You Don’t Leave the House Without:

Easy. My cell phone. I have the samsung galaxy which is just like the iPhone really. I use it constantly; texting, twitter, facebook, GROUPON!, or the tons of other apps I have. I feel naked without it.

❀ xo

3 thoughts on “Learning to Love Valentines Day

Leave a Reply

