30 Day Challenge

My life as a full-time student, part-time worker, ROTC/National Guard soldier, and an avid runner make life busy & hectic. I want to get my blog rolling & have struggled with time. I think this 30 day challenge, inspired from a blog I recently found: http://www.fashionfitnessfoodie.wordpress.com is the perfect way for me to get started. So here’s the challenge:

Day 0: The 30 Day Challenge Explanation and Description
Day 1: Introduce, recent picture of yourself, 15 interesting facts
Day 2: Meaning behind your blog name
Day 3: Your first love
Day 4: Your parents
Day 5: A song to match your mood
Day 6: A picture of something that makes you happy
Day 7: Favorite movies
Day 8: A place you’ve traveled to
Day 9: A favorite picture of your best friend
Day 10: Something you’re afraid of
Day 11: Favorite tv shows
Day 12: Something you don’t leave the house without
Day 13: Goals
Day 14: A picture of you last year – how have you changed?
Day 15: Bible verse
Day 16: Dream house
Day 17: Something you’re looking forward to
Day 18: Favorite Place to Eat
Day 19: Something you miss
Day 20: Nicknames
Day 21: Favorite Picture of yourself ALL TIME Why?
Day 22: What’s in your purse?
Day 23: Favorite Movie
Day 24: Something you’ve learned
Day 25: Put your iPod on shuffle, first 10 songs
Day 26: Your Dream Wedding
Day 27: Original Photo of the city you live in
Day 28: Something that stresses you out
Day 29: 3 Wishes
Day 30: a picture of yourself this day and 5 good things that happened since you started the challenge.

 

So we’re off!

Day 1: [January 28, 2011] My name is Karla–I’d say I’m your average 20 year old college student but I’m certainly not an average college student according to todays standards. I work hard with school as I aspire to go to law school in 2012 or 2013. While most people spent their weekends going out & filling their body with copious amounts of alcohol I prefer to spend my nights with my closest friends laughing & relaxing. I also really appreciate nights spent by myself laying on the couch with a good book, a good candle, and a glass of wine. Life is too short to waste your weekends away drinking, so while many college kids may say I’m lame, I don’t care because I want to cherish the time I’ve been so graciously given. I am a strong believer with a strong faith. I also am enlisted in the WI National Guard. Up until about a year ago I found running to be a form of torture but here I am about 9 months later and have one half-marathon under my belt. [I plan to do 2 more half’s in 2011 & a full marathon in 2012]. It is the best way to clear my mind & work up a good sweat. Recently I’ve taken up cooking too which is very ironic since when I lived at home I struggled making grilled cheese…without setting off the fire alarms! 😉
My family & friends hold me together like glue when I’m at my lowest, most vulnerable point. They’ve helped develop me into the person I am today and I will be forever grateful.

This photo is the most recent I have & was taken when my UW-Badgers went to the ROSE BOWL this year. While they sadly lost, it was easily one of the most fun trips I’ve taken.
I’m the blonde [taken with my friend Holly @ the game]

& for 15 interesting facts

1* I may very well be addicted to music & I appreciate all genres.
2* I spent my entire childhood [5-17 years old] competitively swimming. It was my passion & something I really excelled at. Sadly I grew out of it & took up running instead.
3* The feeling of helping others around you gives a feeling of satisfaction not many things can give.
4* Like most girls, you put chocolate infront of me and I WILL eat it. No questions asked.
5* I have two tattoos: a cross on my ankle & “live like you were dying” on my wrist.
6* The hardships brought to my family [ie. dad being diagnosed with cancer twice as well as a permanent brain injury, a mother with RA & Chrons Disease] have only brought us even closer.
7* I love am addicted to shoes. Running shoes, high heels, sandals–you name it, I love it.
8* The best way to start any day is with a run outside followed by coffee… I may very well drink more coffee than water. (shh, it’s unhealthy I know)
9* I enjoy quiet walks around the lake in my hometown. So peaceful.
10* I dream of adopting a child from the Dominican Republic.
11* My choice of career in the future would be mediation. That way I can help people with legal issues while avoiding going to court (a costly & TIME CONSUMING process as my family has found out.)
12* I lack all artistic abilities but think it would be super fun to be an interior designer.
13* I hate tomatoes, but love fresh salsa/pico de gallo. I want someone to explain that to me…
14* I want to skydive… yes, you heard me–I want to jump out of a perfectly operating airplane.
15* I am slightly OCD.

There ya have it! Me wrapped up in a nutshell. Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

