Healthy Holidays

Hi Friends!

Hope you all had a fantastic Thanksgiving weekend and took time to really appreciate family and loved ones. I know this year more than ever I really appreciated the special time with special people in my life. I don’t want to take it for granted anymore… :)

I did manage to get in 6 glorious miles with my neighbor on Thursday morning. 6 miles may not sound like a lot but after a 5 month injury it was pure bliss.

{Thankful for legs that let me run}

My puppy was so excited to see me-even though he’s kind of naughty, with his face you can’t help but {LOVE} him.

The biggest news of the weekend: THREE of my friends got engaged over the weekend. All of a sudden I feel overwhelmed. And feel like I’ll be the only person left without the old ball & chain in two years. But oh well, I’m happy and that’s what matters.

The amazing Lindsay and  Elle set up a healthy holiday challenge for the holidays and I am so grateful they took the challenge of setting this up. I highly doubt they anticipated 700 PEOPLE to get onboard. If you’re curious about it–check out their blogs. You can still sign up for the next rotation in two weeks! :)

The #Elf4Health challenge of the day today was to have a Meatless Monday. This was SO hard for me. I love my chicken and ground turkey-but I refrained. Instead I fueled for tough workouts with some sweet taters, black beans, cottage cheese, and veggies.

Today’s Workouts:

*3.86 mile run outside (SO COLD!) in 36 min

*Upper body workout

-5 sets of push-ups: 18, 22, 16, 16, 25(knees)

-3 rounds of:

75 seconds burpees

75 seconds shoulder press w/ DB 15#

75 seconds dips

75 seconds med ball pushups (KILL ME!)

75 seconds seated DB bicep burl 15#

Talk about a tough upper body workout! I will definitely be feeling that one tomorrow.

I’m really excited for this challenge-the holidays always derail my healthy eating

Not this year-I have big plans in the making.

But more on that later. :)

TELL ME: How do you keep your lifestyle as healthy as possible during the Holiday season?

<3 xoxo, Karla

 

 

3 thoughts on “Healthy Holidays

  1. I honestly admire anyone who freely does burpees. I loathe them. There’s a reason that Spartan Sprint use them as a punishment if you skip one of the obstacles.

    Holidays are so tough when it comes to healthy eating! I don’t want to deprive myself, but at the same time, I don’t want to derail my progress either. I try to look at it as a moderation & balance act.

  2. Ahh I am a little delayed on this post, but awesome job on the 6miler!! That’s a perfect distance don’t you dare discredit yourself for that! Around the holidays the past few years I haven’t had any problems with eating. I just eat the same way I would any other day, with maybe a few extra treats..but usually went for a walk/run to earn them!

  3. All the present wrapping and shopping distracts me from all of the gingerbread and hot chocolate. Every once in a while I will treat myself to something small to get my holiday sweets fill in. Lots of gym trips also help. Awesome workout, I’m working on triceps this month so I will be stealing some of this :)

Leave a Reply

