Rambling about Running

Happy Monday loves!
It’s a super busy week school-wise and I probably shouldn’t be blogging but I’ve been dying to fill ya’ll in on some running news.

Remember how I had mentioned about Rock n Roll’s deal on 11/11/11 and I was going to have big news? Fail.

Let me back up a second.

I have been tossing the idea back and forth about the Icebreak Indoor Half Marathon in January at the National Petitt Center. Then when I found out about RnR’s deal I told myself I could not afford to pay for both the Indoor half and a RnR race in the same week.

I had to make a big decision.¬†Some would say it’s not a big decision–but you fellow runners can understand! Plus, I’m not that good at making big decisions regardless ;-)

After much thinking, making pro/con lists, and talking with my training partner & my fabulous mother I had decided to opt out of the RnR Chicago half in July and do the Indoor Half.

I had every intention of signing up for the Indoor Half while I was at work on 11/11/11…then I saw this.

It would be just my “luck” that it would close a day before I was going to register.

Needless to say I was quite sad about it… I was so excited to be signed up for tons of races in 2012 and really improve my running.

Then I realized that I will be around for the Lakefront Marathon in Milwaukee in October of 2012 before I head out for 15 weeks of Army training…so I cheered up.

And I also am signed up for two 10K’s in December! Planning on doing the first one for fun (+5 miles afterwards for training) to see what I can do on my NYE race…!

I’m really looking forward to both these races. The Jingle Bell 10k I did last year when I was still very new to running… my goal was to break an hour (how slow!) but I came in at 1:00.01…there’s that “luck” again! I had to stop to tie my shoe 3 times :(

So even though that’ll be my fun race I still am shooing for sub-1:00 which will be super easy. Stay tuned for my NYE Run into the New Year goal :)

And a little inspiration for all runners before I go watch my husband Aaron Rodgers kill it on the field: 

Tell me: Do you ever have problems with races filling up that you really want to run?

9 thoughts on “Rambling about Running

  1. awwww such a disappointment!! i am currently pondering signing up for the colorado marathon and registration is closing in fast so i need to get on it soon!!

Leave a Reply

